Author Topic: Improving the game community?  (Read 1061 times)

Improving the game community?
« on: March 31, 2014, 09:39:07 PM »
Hi All,

I'm new to OzHadou and thanks for letting me join this community. A little bit about myself. I work in the USA and I call myself a gamer. I'm really into fighting games, but I would probably call myself very casual and no where near professional level. My experience in the US is that for newcomers to get into the fighting game community, it's actually tough. Not the fact that the community is not accepting - but hard to actually find a community to meet and greet face to face or even online.

I am actually Aussie and I've just come back to visit. So now I'm trying to find out about the fighting game community in Australia - and same thing, took me a while to know about this site or any info on the gaming community here. 

So this got me thinking. Since I'm new to the community, I'm not exactly sure of the scene here. I have some ideas that I would like to implement to help maybe improve or expose the fighting game community more in Australia.

But before doing so, I would like to ask for the communities opinion?  For example, the community needs to grow bigger or things are good the way things are - or perhaps most of the people on the forums are young kids who squeak so don't bother etc. Just like to hear thoughts.

Sorry guys - I might seem like I'm dreaming big but I have a passion for fighting games and would like to see it grow just as big as the usa. But for people like me it just doesn't seem as accessible or exposed.

Also apologize in advance if this post is ridiculous.

Offline Madenka AU

• Forum regular
    • View Profile
Re: Improving the game community?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2014, 10:13:19 PM »
Props for the post, firstly which city are you in? There are community organisers in the 3 big capitals, smaller but none the less growing community gatherings in the others.