Author Topic: Fastest method to improve for a beginner?  (Read 1236 times)

Fastest method to improve for a beginner?
« on: August 02, 2015, 09:29:35 PM »
Notice there's no introduction forum here, so I thought I'll do it here as a background to what I'm asking. I'm a beginner in SFIV, as in started in the last month never really got into fighting games prior. I've seen SFII as a kid, played one or two casual rounds with a friend but never bothered to get into it till now.

I've been reading online as many would suggest on basic tutorials and have been working on basic execution in training room. My question though is, what is the best way for a beginner to improve? I feel there's a pretty large gap between beginner and an average player online, making the match very short and perhaps not able to have a chance to try many things. Not sure I will get the most productive use of my time playing online matches again and again. Or would playing arcade mode in hardest setting be more optimal? The only thing is I don't want to get into bad habits as the CPU probably will not play like a person would.

I came along to YSB on Saturday and it was pretty cool, makes me want to learn SFIV even more seeing the scene. Hope to get to know everyone here further down the road!

Offline Kay

Re: Fastest method to improve for a beginner?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2015, 08:05:00 AM »
Keep going to YSB and other offline scenes and you'll grow faster than someone who does not, like me. :P

Offline cran pibae

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2015, 01:50:31 PM »
Depends where you are starting from. If you are a complete beginner, the first point of call would be to learn how to do the special moves, so that you can perform them exactly when you want to do so. After you have mastered that, you have a repertoire of moves at your disposal, it is a matter of learning how to use them.